Office of Fair Trading (Queensland)


The Office of Fair Trading (OFT) are the government department that regulate the Real Estate Industry in Queensland. They administer the Property Agents and Motor Dealers Act (2000), PAMD Regulatons and the Fair Trading Act (1989). The OFT also issue real estate licensing and salespersons certificates of registration in Qld.

Residential Tenancies Authority (RTA)

The Residential Tenancies Authority (RTA) are the Qld government department that regulate general residential tenancies between lessors and tenants. They adminster the Residential Tenancies and Rooming Accommodation Act (2008) and Regulations.

Queensland Civil and Administrative Tribunal (QCAT

QCAT replaced the previous Small Claims Tribunal in Qld. QCAT began in December 1 2009 and amalgamated 23 former tribunals into one super tribunal. There are three divisions to QCAT including tenancy matters.

Pool Safety Laws (DIP)

Department of Local Government and Planning regulate Pool Safety laws in Qld.

Smoke Alarm Laws (QLD Fire and Rescue)

The Department of Emergency Services (Fire and Rescue) regulate smoke alarm law and building fire safety laws in Qld.

Electrical Safety Laws (Safety Switches)

The Department of Justice is the government body that administer electrical safety switch law in Qld.

Queensland Legislation

This website has all of Qld legislation which can be downloaded.